National Pan-Hellenic Council, Inc.
Council of Presidents

Dorothy Buckhanan Wilson
Alpha Kappa Alpha Soroity, Inc.

Everett B. Ward, Ph.D.
Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.

Paulette Walker, Chair
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Mary Wright
Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

Robert Clark
Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc.

Thomas L. Battles, Vice Chair
Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.

Deborah Catchings-Smith
Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.

Jonathan A. Mason, Sr.
Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.

Antonio “Tony” Knox
Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.

NPHC is comprised of local councils drawn from the ranks of 1.5 million college and professional members of the nine historically African-American fraternities and sororities, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc., Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc., Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc., and Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, and the Council of Presidents of these member organizations who come together on issues that promote the common purposes and general good for which these organizations were founded and still exist.

We, as the Council of Presidents, stand together with our membership against all forms of racism and discrimination. As anti-racism organizations, we are committed to purposefully identifying and challenging issues of race and color and their impact on our members and others.

We want to emphasize the urgency of the situation at American University where bananas were hung from trees on strings in the shape of nooses marked with the letters AKA which is a common reference to Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, and call for the University’s administration to find effective means to help ensure that unwarranted attacks on our members will not be tolerated. We expect institutions of higher learning to be places where inclusion and diversity are celebrated and not attacked.